Annual Dinner – Thursday 13th February 2014

After the huge success and record turnout last year, the 2014 ELBA Annual Dinner will return to Haberdashers’ Hall, West Smithfield (opposite Bart’s Hospital), to celebrate all that is great at the Employment Bar. We hope you will be able to join us once again. We are delighted that our new Honorary President, Lord Justice Elias, has agreed to be our guest speaker.

There will also be the usual glittering array of other Judges and distinguished guests. This year’s meal will, as always, have a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian, but no pork or shellfish. Please indicate your choice on the form when booking. Should anyone have any allergies or special dietary requirements, please let us know.

Once again we have kept the cost down to an affordable level at £95 per head. There will be a maximum of 5 spaces at £65 for ELBA members who are under 3 years call to be allocated on a strictly first come, first served basis.

We will try and accommodate your seating preferences so please indicate them on the form. However, we do discourage whole tables from one set of Chambers as the idea is to mingle.

We look forward to seeing you on Thursday 13th February 2014.

Invitation / Booking form

UPDATE: Time is now short! If you’ve yet to book email Jane Mccafferty with your meal preferences. Unfortunately, you do still need to post a cheque as well.

Old Square Chambers triathlons for FRU

ELBA’s Secretary, Deshpal Panesar has enlisted his colleagues at Old Square Chambers to field no fewer than six teams in the 2013 Virgin Active London Triathlon to raise money for the Free Representation Unit.

You can find more information on the FRU website.

Or, if you just want to chip in to help one, or all, of the teams, their justgiving pages are: Team 1, Team 2, Team 3, Team 4, Team 5 and Team 6.

2013 Election Results

ELBA’s 2013 election results were announced at our AGM on 15th May 2013.

Our newly elected members of the committee are: Ben Cooper, Rachel Crasnow, Martin Griffiths QC, Jane McCafferty, Deshpal Panesar, Diya Sen Gupta, Mohinderpal Sethi.

They join the committee members now in the second year of their two year term: Richard Leiper, Jude Shepherd and Gavin Mansfield QC.

The committee appointed the following officers:

Chair: Richard Leiper
Vice-Chair: Gavin Mansfield QC
Secretary: Deshpal Panesar
Treasurer: Diya Sen Gupta

Colin Bourne (Northern Liaison) and Michael Reed (Free Representation Unit) were co-opted to the committee.

ELBA Committee Nominations

Nominations are invited for membership of the committee of the Employment Law Bar Association to be received by 5pm on Tuesday 16 April 2013.

There are 6 vacant positions. If there are more than 6 nominations an election will follow.

Nominations must be in writing and be signed by the candidate indicating their willingness to serve on the committee and be signed by a proposer and a seconder.

The candidate, proposer and seconder must be members of the association.
Nominations must be sent to the Returning Officer:

Gavin Mansfield QC
Littleton Chambers
3 Kings Bench Walk North
London EC4Y 7HR
DX: 1047 Chancery Lane

Alternatively a scanned nomination may be sent by email to

Forthcoming Events

The President of Employment Tribunals, Judge David Latham will be speaking on the New Rules on 6th March at the LSE New Academic Building in Lincoln’s Inn Fields, starting at 6pm.

On 15th May the AGM will be addressed by Mickey Rubenstein (topic to be confirmed) at Gray’s Inn, starting at 6pm.